Skip to main content


Showing posts with the label Rebels

Karnataka cabinet expanded while new challenges crop up

E ight former Congress and two Janata Dal-Secular(JD-S) legislators who quit their positions to switch over to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) and got reelected on the BJP tickets were sworn in as cabinet ministers this morning. In fact, the expansion process was over delayed despite the 05 December 2019 bye-election results that were declared on 09 December itself.But for Mahesh Kumatalli, all other ten former MLAs' have been rewarded with ministerial berths for ensuring the collapse of the HD Kumaraswamy led JDS-Congress coalition government and thereby enabling the saffron party to come back to power. Mahesh Kumatalli, Athani MLA has been vocal enough in letting out his angry outbursts against Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa for letting him down in cabinet expansion. He also termed the CM's action as betrayal for he was assured of a cabinet post when he had offered to resign along with 16 other MLAs'.He was not the only one to air his displeasure in public. MTB N

Karnataka Rebels placated while BJP loyalists raise a banner of revolt

T he much-awaited expansion of the BS Yediyuurappa led state Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) government is finally taking place on this Thursday 06 February. The Chief Minister himself made this announcement to media persons on Sunday. No doubt almost all newly elected and former disqualified Members of state Assembly(MLAs') but for Mahesh Kumatalli, Athani legislator heaved a sigh of relief following the chief minister's over delayed pronouncement. However, MTB Nagaraj, former Minister in the HD Kumaraswamy led JDS-INC coalition government and AH Vishwanath, former state JD-S president and R Shankar, a former minister in the previous government expressed displeasure for being left out of the cabinet formation. Both MTB Nagaraj and AH Vishwanath lost in Hoskote of Bengaluru Rural district and Hunsur constituency in Mysuru district respectively in the recently held bye-elections while R Shankar was denied the ruling party ticket to contest from Ranebennur constituency in Ha