Skip to main content


Showing posts with the label Polling

Polling Continues to Dip in Three Bengaluru Lok Sabha Constituencies

Bengaluru: Bengalureans continue to remain indifferent to the general elections by preferring to forget their duty to vote as evinced on Friday 26 April. This stance, by and large, has continued to remain so and also sadly for decades.   Second-class polling in the first-class city: S Suresh Kumar, former BJP Minister and Rajajinagar MLA laments over the sad development. He also relents at the predicament as 'Second-class polling in the first-class city' and claims to humbly receive the 'commemorative letter' and puts forth the following opinion: 1. Pleaded for polling days several times: Maybe, I pleaded with the election commission against having the polling days on Friday, Saturday, Sunday or Monday. If Friday is the polling day, it will also be declared as a holiday thereby tempting many people to utilize the same as a long weekend for personal leisure and pleasure. It is quite natural as well. 2. Need for a sub booth: Among some polling booths, for instance, th

Karnataka's14 constituencies to go to polls tomorrow in the second and final phase

F ourteen Lok Sabha constituencies in the Northern region of the state of Karnataka are set to go in for polling tomorrow in the second and final round of polls.Polling to the remaining 14 constituencies in Southern region got over on Thursday 18 April. Image source: The 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state going to the polls are as follows Chikkodi,Belagavi,Bagalkote,Vijayapura,Kalaburagi(Gulburga),Bidar,Raichuru,Ballari,Koppal,Haveri,Dharwad,Uttara Kannada,Davanagere and Shivamogga .By and large the whole of North Karnataka region but for a few exceptions has been considered as a bastion of the saffron party since a few decades and the results of subsequent elections have only added strength to such a notion. The Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) had won 11 seats in the May 2014 Parliamentary elections bagging 49.45 percentage of the total votes polled while the Indian National Congress(INC) had registered a win in three constituencies.During the previous general ele