Skip to main content


Showing posts with the label Mahesh Kumatalli

Karnataka:Three Congress MLAs' disqualified

R Shankar, Ramesh Jharkiholi and Mahesh Kumatalli , all Congress MLAs' have been disqualified from the membership of the state Assembly with immediate effect and till May 2023. KR Rameshkumar, Speaker of the state Assembly announced in this regard late in the evening today and clarified that all the disqualified legislators are not only barred from contesting elections but also from holding any offices of profit. R Shankar represented Ranebennur constituency in Haveri district, Ramesh Jharkiholi was elected from Gokak while Mahesh Kumatalli had won from Athani, both the constituencies from Belagavi district. It may be recollected that R Shankar, a former Congressman, after failing to get party ticket rebelled against the party and contested before KB Koliwad, Congress candidate and Speaker of the outgoing Assembly. He emerged victorious in the nomination of Karnataka Prajnavanta Janata Party(KPJP), an outfit floated by 'Real Star' Upendra. The KPJP MLA, on the next day of