Skip to main content


Showing posts with the label New Year 2019

Coalition disasters, manmade tragedies mark 2018

Coalition disasters, manmade tragedies mark 2018 The bye gone year had been a bundle of good, bad and worse for Karnataka if you were to glance at the important developments that took place during this period. General elections held on 12 May for the 224 members state Assembly paved way for a hung house thereby depriving the Bharatiya Janata Party from assuming power. Heavy rains along with unheard floods, landslips and major landslides resulted into the death of a few people apart from displacing many more people of the picturesque, coffee rich Kodagu district. Likewise 30 passengers lost their lives in a ghastly bus mishap and more than 17 people died after consuming prasadam at a temple in Chamarajnagar district. Karnataka also lost three political and cultural personalities during this period. HN Ananthkumar, Union Parliamentary Affairs, Fertilizers and Chemicals Minister, CK Jaffer Shariff, former central minister and octogenarian Congress leader and MH Ambareesh,