Skip to main content


Showing posts with the label Chief Minister

BS Yeddyurappa sworn in as CM

ImageSource: Bookanakere Siddalingappa Yeddyurappa (76) of the Bharatiya Janata Party was sworn in as the 24th Karnataka Chief Minister this evening on the lawns of Raj Bhavan. He is becoming the chief minister of the state for the fourth time. Governor Vajubhai Vala administered him the oath of office and secrecy. BS Yeddyurappa alone was sworn in and no cabinet ministers accompanied the chief minister during the swearing-in ceremony. He took oath in the name of God.He was sporting as his usual white safari and was wearing a green shawl to depict his commitment to the farming community. The designate chief minister had appealed leaders of both, Janata Dal-Secular(JD-S) and Indian National Congress(INC) parties to take part in the swearing-in function. However, none of them turned up.BL Santosh, National Organizing General Secretary of BJP and P Muralidhar Rao, party in charge of the state represented the party high command on this occasion. Almost all party MPs&

Jaganmohan Reddy walks in father's footsteps to ascend CM's throne in Andhra Pradesh

Jaganmohan Reddy walks in father's footsteps to ascend CM's throne in Andhra Pradesh Jaganmohan Reddy, YSR Congress party leader and leader of the opposition in the Andhra Pradesh state Assembly has created a new record of sorts by walking the state on foot.He concluded his 'Praja Sanklapa Padyatra' today by addressing a mammoth public meeting at Ichchapuram in Srikakulam district. YSR party sources claim that this padyatra is the longest one undertaken by any political leader in the country.In fact he began his walk on foot across the 13 districts of the state from Idupulapaya in Kadala district from 6 November 2017. It may be recalled here that incidentally this is also the final resting place of his father YS Rajasekhar Reddy popularly referred as YSR. In over 429 days but 340 days of actual walking Jaganmohan Reddy has covered 3,648 kilometres and thereby reaching out to 134 of the total 175 Assembly constituencies. Rough estimates put the number of pe