Skip to main content


Showing posts with the label CabinetMinisters

BSY empties his old wine in Basavaraj Bommai's new bottle!

Basavaraj Bommai's one-man cabinet has at last been expanded on the eighth day after he was sworn in as Chief Minister last Wednesday. In between the new chief minister camped in the nation's capital, initially for two days and three days in the second lap to finalize his cabinet. But in the end, what has turned out reminds one of the old wines in a new bottle! And what else; much to the grouse of his detractors in the state and Delhi BS Yediyurappa continues to have the last laugh! Although the former chief minister succeeded in ensuring most members of the Bombay Team (Congress and Janata Dal-Secular MLAs' who resigned and joined BJP to topple the previous coalition government) continue to remain in the saddle, his all types of tricks, pressures and pulls didn't come to his rescue in enabling his second son BY Vijayendra to become a Minister. image source: The Indian Express Pupil got results and stripping of berth:  However, his masterstroke helped in dropping CP Yog

Karnataka cabinet expanded while new challenges crop up

E ight former Congress and two Janata Dal-Secular(JD-S) legislators who quit their positions to switch over to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) and got reelected on the BJP tickets were sworn in as cabinet ministers this morning. In fact, the expansion process was over delayed despite the 05 December 2019 bye-election results that were declared on 09 December itself.But for Mahesh Kumatalli, all other ten former MLAs' have been rewarded with ministerial berths for ensuring the collapse of the HD Kumaraswamy led JDS-Congress coalition government and thereby enabling the saffron party to come back to power. Mahesh Kumatalli, Athani MLA has been vocal enough in letting out his angry outbursts against Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa for letting him down in cabinet expansion. He also termed the CM's action as betrayal for he was assured of a cabinet post when he had offered to resign along with 16 other MLAs'.He was not the only one to air his displeasure in public. MTB N

Karnataka : Seniors rewarded while dissidents angry for being left out

T he 25 days old lone member BS Yediyurappa led Bharatiya Janata Party cabinet in the state has at last been expanded today with the induction of 17 new cabinet ministers. Among them include 11 former ministers including Jagadish Shettar, former chief minister and two Deputy chief ministers , R Ashok and KS Eshwarappa . The other former ministers include S Sureshkumar, V Somanna, Govind Karajol, LS Savadi, Basavaraj Bommai, B Sriramulu, CC Patil, Kota Sreenivas Pujari and H Nagesh.The first time ministers are Dr Ashwathnarayan CN, CT Ravi, JC Madhuswamy, Prabhu Chavan and Ms Shashikala Annasaheb Jolle.15 members of the state Assembly have joined the cabinet while Kota Sreenivas Pujari, leader of the house in the state legislative Council is the lone member representing the upper house. However, Lakshman Sangappa Savadi, former cooperation minister in the DV Sadanandagowda ministry and who is not a member of either of the houses has made it to the cabinet. It may als