Skip to main content


Showing posts with the label Kalaburagi

Karnataka's14 constituencies to go to polls tomorrow in the second and final phase

F ourteen Lok Sabha constituencies in the Northern region of the state of Karnataka are set to go in for polling tomorrow in the second and final round of polls.Polling to the remaining 14 constituencies in Southern region got over on Thursday 18 April. Image source: The 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state going to the polls are as follows Chikkodi,Belagavi,Bagalkote,Vijayapura,Kalaburagi(Gulburga),Bidar,Raichuru,Ballari,Koppal,Haveri,Dharwad,Uttara Kannada,Davanagere and Shivamogga .By and large the whole of North Karnataka region but for a few exceptions has been considered as a bastion of the saffron party since a few decades and the results of subsequent elections have only added strength to such a notion. The Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) had won 11 seats in the May 2014 Parliamentary elections bagging 49.45 percentage of the total votes polled while the Indian National Congress(INC) had registered a win in three constituencies.During the previous general ele

Kalaburgi Reserve constituency evokes keen interest among political onlookers

Kalaburgi Reserve constituency evokes keen interest among political onlookers Gulbarga or more well known as Kalaburagi locally is the divisional headquarters of Hyderabad Karnataka region.A division formerly part of the Nizam's kingdom at last became part of the state only in 1971 and that too after a prolonged relentless movement. If the state of Karnataka came into being on 1 November 1956 for all those residing in the erstwhile Hyderabad Karnataka areas celebrate their unification day taking into consideration the 1971 calendar as well. Well enough water has flown into Bheema,Bennithora and other rivers in the district since then apart from the district being split to carve the new Yadagiri district. Kalaburagi as it has been officially renamed has by and large remained a strong Congress bastion ever since it came into being after Independence. Right from the first ever general elections during 1951 and the subsequent polls held in 1957,1962,1967 and 1971 the con